by elcoderdude
cornjob wrote:
It's been a while since I played Runelords, and I may be remembering rules wrong. But I thought you would only banish barriers if the card explicitly said to. I realize I was probably remembering a case where you banish it DESPITE failing the check.
???
MM rulebook p.10 wrote:
Resolve the Encounter. If you succeed at all of the checks required to defeat a bane, banish it; if you don’t succeed, it is undefeated—shuffle the card back into its location deck.
As stated, villains are an exception.
This language goes back to Runelords.
My best guess is you have some lingering confusion from the Runelords Ambush barrier.... whose disposition was uncertain when undefeated, until it was FAQ'd (you always banish it).