by RvdH83
GamerTip wrote:
On Caps Shield toss:
When you attack you specify the target let’s say a minion with keyword guard. So you are NOT targeting the villain.
Pg 4 of rules says “Hero action attack - resolve that ability is considered to attack the specified target” in this case the guard.
Then you discard 2 cards and bring caps shield from play to hand. Then -> triggers deal 4 damage to X enemies. Which in this case is 2 from the discard. 4 to the guard and 4 to anyone else let’s say the villain. Where did I attack the villain in this scenario? I dealt damage but there are other cases of damage being dealt when an attack is not done. Why is this one different?
I know it is an attack but no where on the card does it say you need to designate multiple targets and since the rule book says what I quoted it should work.
The -> trigger doesn’t say attack X enemies just damage X enemies.
When you attack you specify the target let’s say a minion with keyword guard. So you are NOT targeting the villain.
Pg 4 of rules says “Hero action attack - resolve that ability is considered to attack the specified target” in this case the guard.
Then you discard 2 cards and bring caps shield from play to hand. Then -> triggers deal 4 damage to X enemies. Which in this case is 2 from the discard. 4 to the guard and 4 to anyone else let’s say the villain. Where did I attack the villain in this scenario? I dealt damage but there are other cases of damage being dealt when an attack is not done. Why is this one different?
I know it is an attack but no where on the card does it say you need to designate multiple targets and since the rule book says what I quoted it should work.
The -> trigger doesn’t say attack X enemies just damage X enemies.
Shield Toss says it's an attack. Quote:
Hero Action (attack): Discard X cards from your hand, then return Captain America's Shield from play to your hand → deal 4 damage to X enemies.
Note the italic attack. So this card is an attack, so you cannot target the Villain if a minion with Guard is engaged with you.